Arnold wins district wrestling title, area athletes advance

Published: Saturday, February 2, 2013 at 11:22 PM.


District 1-1A

WEWAHITCHKA — Arnold won the district title and advanced 12 wrestlers to next week’s regional tournament. Marianna was second followed by Rutherford, South Walton, Wewahitchka, Bozeman, Bay and Niceville Rocky Bayou Christian. The top four wrestlers in each weight class moved on to the Region 1-1A meet to be held at Jacksonville Bolles on Friday and Saturday.

Arnold had five individual district champions: Brock Carlan (120-pound weight class), Colby Baker (138), Taylor Ryan (145), Matt McIntosh (182) and Reggie Gordon (220). Wewahitchka had two champions in Austin Malcolm (106) and Weston Sarmiento (132), while Marianna also had two titlists in Jason Helms (113) and Devin Combs (152). Other area district champions were Bozeman’s Kris Kenney (170) and Rutherford’s Kekoa Haina-Scott (heavyweight).

District 1-1A results:

  • Team scores: Arnold 202, Marianna 168, Rutherford 117.5, South Walton 107.5, Wewa 95, Bozeman 93.5, Bay 69.5, Rocky Bayou 3.
  • Top four weight class results (advanced to regionals)
  • 106: Malcolm (W), Savage (Boz), Rhodes (M), Coa (SW). 113: Helms (M), Bantique (Bay), Tuttle (A), Hofmeister (Boz). 120: Carlan (A), Ward (M), Segler (Bay), Vines (W). 126: Pickren (SW), Patterson (A), Ruddy (Bopz), ESarmiento (W). 132: WSarmiento (W), Byrd (M), Allvey (A). 138: Baker (A), Warf (M), Gabreski (Bay), Arbona (R). 145: Ryan (A), Epps (W), Nguyen (R), Perdomo (SW). 152: Combs (M), Reed (R), Girrard (A), Gay (Boz). 160: Winkler (SW), Thompson (A), McKee (Boz), Kuhnert (M). 170: KKenney (Box), Tahne (SW), Roulhac (M), MLee (R). 182: McIntosh (A), Johnson (M), Salazar (R), Brogdon (W). 195: Parker (SW), JLee (R), Shewman (Boz), Koscak (A). 220: Gordon (A), Saffore (R), Screen (M), How (Bay). HWT: Haina-Scott (R), Barth (Bay), Krimm (A), Melvin (W).

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top